Sunday, March 30, 2014

The Summer I Saved the World...in 65 Days by Michele Weber Hurwitz

It's summertime, and thirteen-year-old Nina Ross is feeling kind of lost. Her beloved grandma died last year; her parents work all the time; her brother's busy; and her best friend is into clothes, makeup, and boys. While Nina doesn't know what "her thing" is yet, it's definitely not shopping and makeup. And it's not boys, either. Though . . . has Eli, the boy next door, always been so cute?
This summer, Nina decides to change things. She hatches a plan. There are sixty-five days of summer. Every day, she'll anonymously do one small but remarkable good thing for someone in her neighborhood, and find out: does doing good actually make a difference? Along the way, she discovers that her neighborhood, and her family, are full of surprises and secrets.

In this bighearted, sweetly romantic novel, things may not turn out exactly as Nina expects. They might be better.
~Goodreads

Publisher: Wendy Lamb Books
Number of Pages: 208
Type: Hardcover

Reviewed by Lily, age 13

Saturday, March 29, 2014

The Hero's Guide to Being an Outlaw by Chris Healy

The League of Princes returns in the hilariously epic conclusion to the hit series that began with Christopher Healy's The Hero's Guide to Saving Your Kingdom, which the Los Angeles Times called "one of the more clever, hilariously successful incarnations of the current literary rage to rip apart and rewrite fairy tales."
Prince Liam. Prince Frederic. Prince Duncan. Prince Gustav. You think you know those guys pretty well by now, don't you? Well, think again. Posters plastered across the thirteen kingdoms are saying that Briar Rose has been murdered--and the four Princes Charming are the prime suspects. Now they're on the run in a desperate attempt to clear their names. Along the way, however, they discover that Briar's murder is just one part of a nefarious plot to take control of all thirteen kingdoms--a plot that will lead to the doorstep of an eerily familiar fortress for a final showdown with an eerily familiar enemy.
~Goodreads

Publisher: Walden Pond Press
Number of Pages: 528
Type: Hardcover

Reviewed by Lily, age 13

Saturday, March 22, 2014

Stacking the Shelves (7)


A meme created and hosted by Tynga's Reviews

We've had a couple fun weeks in books lately! We were lucky enough to snag some great ARCs/finished copies from MPS, Harlequin, Penguin, Random House and Simon & Schuster. I'm expecting Between the Spark and the Burn as well, but our sales rep hasn't confirmed if he has an available copy yet. What did you receive/buy this week? 



I am really intrigued by Conversion, Since You've Been Gone and Amity, though Amity mysteriously went missing this week! :( Hopefully it will turn up!

Happy reading!
The (YA) Bookcase Team

Friday, March 21, 2014

Panic by Lauren Oliver

Panic began as so many things do in Carp, a dead-end town of 12,000 people in the middle of nowhere: because it was summer, and there was nothing else to do.
Heather never thought she would compete in Panic, a legendary game played by graduating seniors, where the stakes are high and the payoff is even higher. She’d never thought of herself as fearless, the kind of person who would fight to stand out. But when she finds something, and someone, to fight for, she will discover that she is braver than she ever thought.
Dodge has never been afraid of Panic. His secret will fuel him, and get him all the way through the game, he’s sure of it. But what he doesn't know is that he’s not the only one with a secret. Everyone has something to play for.
For Heather and Dodge, the game will bring new alliances, unexpected revelations, and the possibility of first love for each of them—and the knowledge that sometimes the very things we fear are those we need the most.
~Goodreads

Publisher: HarperTeen 
Number of Pages: 416
Type: Hardcover 

Reviewed by Rachel, age 18

Wednesday, March 19, 2014

Maybe One Day by Melissa Kantor

Critically acclaimed author Melissa Kantor masterfully captures the joy of friendship, the agony of loss, and the unique experience of being a teenager in this poignant new novel about a girl grappling with her best friend's life-threatening illness. 
Zoe and her best friend, Olivia, have always had big plans for the future, none of which included Olivia getting sick. Still, Zoe is determined to put on a brave face and be positive for her friend.
Even when she isn't sure what to say.
Even when Olivia misses months of school. 
Even when Zoe starts falling for Calvin, Olivia's crush. 
The one thing that keeps Zoe moving forward is knowing that Olivia will beat this, and everything will go back to the way it was before. It has to. Because the alternative is too terrifying for her to even imagine. 

In this incandescent page-turner, which follows in the tradition of The Fault in Our Stars, Melissa Kantor artfully explores the idea that the worst thing to happen to you might not be something that is actually happening to you. Raw, irreverent, and honest, Zoe's unforgettable voice and story will stay with readers long after the last page is turned.
~Goodreads

Publisher: HarperTeen
Number of Pages: 400
Type: Hardcover 

Reviewed by Lily, age 13

Friday, March 7, 2014

House of Ivy and Sorrow by Natalie Whipple

Josephine Hemlock has spent the last 10 years hiding from the Curse that killed her mother. But when a mysterious man arrives at her ivy-covered, magic-fortified home, it’s clear her mother’s killer has finally come to destroy the rest of the Hemlock bloodline. Before Jo can even think about fighting back, she must figure out who she’s fighting in the first place. The more truth Jo uncovers, the deeper she falls into witchcraft darker than she ever imagined. Trapped and running out of time, she begins to wonder if the very Curse that killed her mother is the only way to save everyone she loves.
~Goodreads 

Publisher: HarperTeen
Number of Pages: 352
Type: Paperback 

Reviewed by Rachel, age 18

Tuesday, March 4, 2014

REVIEW & GIVEAWAY: On the Fence by Kasie West

She's a tomboy. He's the boy next door…
Charlie Reynolds can outrun, outscore, and outwit every boy she knows. But when it comes to being a girl, Charlie doesn't know the first thing about anything. So when she starts working at a chichi boutique to pay off a speeding ticket, she finds herself in a strange new world. To cope with the stress of her new reality, Charlie takes to spending nights chatting with her neighbor Braden through the fence between their yards. As she grows to depend on their nightly Fence Chats, she realizes she's got a bigger problem than speeding tickets-she's falling for Braden. She knows what it means to go for the win, but if spilling her secret means losing him for good, the stakes just got too high.

Fun, original, and endearing, On the Fence is a romantic comedy about finding yourself and finding love where you least expect.
~Goodreads

Publisher: HarperTeen
Number of Pages: 320
Type: Hardcover 

Reviewed by Amanda, age 18

Monday, March 3, 2014

COVER REVEAL: Drawing Amanda by Stephanie Feuer


ABOUT THE BOOK 

Drawing Amanda is set in the under-parented, high-expectation world of a Manhattan international prep school. Fourteen-year-old Inky Kahn, smarting from the death of his father, only wants to have his artwork seen and appreciated. When he submits a drawing of his secret crush – Amanda – to an Internet game developer, Inky inadvertently draws her into a cyber-stalker’s lair. Now Inky must use his art to save his muse and trap the creep before he ensnares anyone else.


ABOUT THE AUTHOR


Stephanie Feuer’s articles and essays have appeared in The New York Times, The Boston Herald, on bettyconfidential.com and in numerous anthologies and literary magazines. She serves as creative nonfiction editor of Conclave, a Journal of Character
Drawing Amanda is her first published book of fiction.






ABOUT THE ILLUSTRATOR 


S.Y. Lee received her BFA in Illustration from Syracuse University. Her work has been featured in children’s books, textbooks, magazines, and on iPad® apps. She currently lives in New York with her two goldfish, One Fish and Two Fish. You can see more of her work on her online portfolio: http://callmelee.com






THE GIVEAWAY
This is a really cool giveaway. The winner gets their portrait drawn in the style of Drawing Amanda's illustrations by S.Y. Lee. 
a Rafflecopter giveaway

What do you think of Drawing Amanda?

Happy reading!
The (YA) Bookcase Team 

Saturday, March 1, 2014

REVIEW & GIVEAWAY: In the End by Demitria Lunetta

The thrilling conclusion to In the After, the survival story of Amy and Baby, set in a near future where Earth has been overrun by vicious, predatory creatures.
It’s been three months since Amy escaped New Hope, and she’s been surviving on her own, like she did in the After. Until one day, her former fellow Guardian’s voice rings out in her earpiece. And in a desperate tone, Kay utters the four words Amy had hoped she would never hear: Dr. Reynolds has Baby.
Now it’s a race against time, for Baby is in imminent danger, her life threatened by the malevolent doctor who had helped start the end of the world. In order to save Baby, Amy must make her way to Fort Black, a prison-turned-survivor-colony, where she will need to find Ken, Kay’s brother. He alone holds the key to Baby’s survival.

One small slip-up on this quest could spark a downward spiral that would not only cost Baby and Amy their lives, but threaten the very survival of the people in the After.
~Goodreads

Publisher: HarperTeen
Number of Pages: 400
Type: Hardcover

Reviewed by Lily, age 13