Monday, August 18, 2014

The Perilous Sea by Sherry Thomas


Iolanthe and Titus continue their mission to defeat the Bane in this striking sequel to The Burning Sky--perfect for fans of Cinda Williams Chima and Kristin Cashore--which Publishers Weekly called "a wonderfully satisfying magical saga" in a starred review and Kirkus Reviews said "bids fair to be the next big epic fantasy success."
After spending the summer away from each other, Titus and Iolanthe (still disguised as Archer Fairfax) are eager to return to Eton College to resume their training to fight the Bane. Although no longer bound to Titus by blood oath, Iolanthe is more committed than ever to fulfilling her destiny--especially with the agents of Atlantis quickly closing in.
Soon after arriving at school, though, Titus makes a shocking discovery, one that throws into question everything he believed about their mission. Faced with this revelation, Iolanthe struggles to come to terms with her new role, while Titus must choose between following his mother's prophecies--or forging a divergent path to an unknowable future.
~Goodreads

Publisher: Balzer+Bray
Number of Pages: 414
Type: Hardcover

Reviewed by Annie, age 20
This book started out far off from where the last one ended, but immediately drew me in. Whereas the last book ended on a calm and happy note, this one started in the middle of something I, as a reader, was unaware of, though, through alternating chapters and showing what had happened before and what was going on now, I was eventually given the full story.

At first, I felt like I knew where this was going. I thought I had a vague idea of how this was going to end, though the chapters that were chaotic and unpredictable did not have the same feeling. However, as I got closer to the end, everything became more and more uncertain. There was a character that I suspected from the beginning because of  their familiarity to the main character, Iolanthe - and in the previous book, familiarity meant that she did end up knowing them - and I was correct in that suspicion. However, there was another character that, as the book went on, I began to suspect and I was never told whether or not my suspicions about this character were correct or not. There was also yet another character that I'd suspected knew more than they were letting on and I was correct in that suspicion as well. It's always enjoyable to wonder about characters and about whether or not they're going to turn out to be what you think.

All in all, I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It was a lot different from the first book, but in a good way. It was clearly still the same story, but the style was slightly different and refreshing. The voice of the two main characters was distinct and clear and something that you don't often see in YA novels where it is told from two different perspectives, while still being in third person. These books have thus far reminded me of the Graceling novels by Kristen Cashore. I think anyone who enjoys those will definitely enjoy these!

This book is on shelves September of 2014!
Buy Hardcover | $17.99

Happy reading!
Annie, age 20

7 comments:

  1. SQUEE! SO much love for these books! As Rachel knows, I LOVED this book :D Thank you for sending me a copy, Rachel - my sister thanks you as well! She really loves the series as well :) I know what you mean about that one character that knew more than he/she let on! *feels special* Anyway. Excellent review, Annie!

    Alyssa @ The Eater of Books!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. YAY!!! So glad you all enjoyed it so much. Sounds like a book we most definitely need to stock in the store!

      Delete
  2. I absolutely LOVED the Graceling series. I really liked the first in this series and have been anticipating this release for months. Cannot wait to read it!!!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I'm really excited about this series! I'm waiting to read the first until this one comes out. I also loved the Graceling series.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I am definitely looking forward to reading this series!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Awesome review! I really enjoyed the Burning Sky, so I'm excited for The Perilous Sea. I'm curious to see where everything goes and how the characters fit in with the plot!

    ReplyDelete
  6. I adored The Burning Sky and am really excited for The Perilous Sea! Though it does make me a little worried hearing it's very different from Burning Sky. Hopefully I'll like the differences.

    ReplyDelete

Thank you for visiting our blog and reading this review. We hope you stop by the store and check out the book!

~Youth Board