Sunday, July 13, 2014

The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings

An action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate. For fans of Moira Young’s Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna.
Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that tracks the population with precision.
The plot starts to thicken when Meadow meets Zephyr James, who is—although he doesn’t know it—one of the MC’s programmed assassins. Is their meeting a coincidence? Destiny? Or part of a terrifying strategy? And will Zephyr keep Meadow from discovering the haunting truth about her family?

Action-packed, blood-soaked, and chilling, this is a dark and compelling debut novel by Lindsay Cummings.
~Goodreads

Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Number of Pages: 416
Type: Hardcover 

Reviewed by Rachel, age 18

The Murder Complex is probably the most bloody, gory book I've ever read. But that made it seem more stark and real. This world is scary. Scarier even than the many other dystopians I've read.

The protagonist, Meadow, is fierce and rough around the edges. And she doesn't really soften. She comes to understand herself and her purpose by the end of the book, but she stays harsh and I kind of liked that. It seemed more real than other "tough chicks" I've read in previous books that end up getting all mushy. 

This is great thriller if you're interested in a highly action-packed, boodtastic read with a little romance. The book trades point of views every other chapter between Meadow and the love interest Zephyr, who is strangely softer than Meadow but also fierce in a completely different way. I really liked him. The chapters are also really short so it's easy to flip the pages fast. 

My main complaint about The Murder Complex was a bit of instalove. Zephyr has always liked Meadow, but Meadow from one scene to the next seemed to change her position on him altogether and I felt like there should have been a gentler transition. There were a few moments in this book like that, where I felt like I missed a couple pages or something.

The book has an original idea, which was refreshing, but it also had the same general plot as any other dystopian. However, it was a very enjoyable read nonetheless and because of its non-mushy romance and action-packed storyline I think it would easily appeal to both boys and girls.

This book is on shelves now!
Buy Hardcover | $17.99


Happy reading!
Rachel, age 18

1 comment:

  1. Ooo! I've read this one - I didn't love it, but I didn't hate it either. I do want to read the next book :D The world in this story IS scary! I didn't expect so much blood and violence and murder. I don't know what this says about me, but I really enjoyed reading about all of that ;) I agree with you, it did seem like any other dystopian novel, when you boil it down. But it was worth the read. Book two! To appease my irritation with that ending LOL :)

    Fabulous review, Rachel!

    Alyssa @ The Eater of Books!

    ReplyDelete

Thank you for visiting our blog and reading this review. We hope you stop by the store and check out the book!

~Youth Board