Thursday, July 3, 2014

Between the Spark and Burn by April Genevieve Tucholke

The conclusion to Between the Devil and The Deep Blue Sea, this gothic thriller romance with shades of Stephen King and Daphne du Maurier is a must-read for fans of Beautiful Creatures and Anna Dressed in Blood.
Freddie once told me that the Devil created all the fear in the world.
But then, the Devil once told me that it's easier to forgive someone for scaring you than for making you cry.
The problem with River West Redding was that he'd done both to me.

The crooked-smiling liar River West Redding, who drove into Violet's life one summer day and shook her world to pieces, is gone. Violet and Neely, River's other brother, are left to worry—until they catch a two a.m. radio program about strange events in a distant mountain town. They take off in search of River but are always a step behind, finding instead frenzied towns, witch hunts, and a wind-whipped island with the thrum of something strange and dangerous just under the surface. It isn't long before Violet begins to wonder if Neely, the one Redding brother she thought trustworthy, has been hiding a secret of his own . . .
~Goodreads

Publisher: Dial 
Number of Pages: 320
Type: Hardcover 

Reviewed by Rachel, age 18
I love these books. Between the Spark and the Burn delivered the same poetic writing that Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea had. For me, April Tucholke's writing is unmatched in YA literature. It's deep but not like reading Shakespeare where everything takes time to interpret, because her words make perfect sense. That's the cool thing. It's beautiful and stark and simple and complex all at the same time. It feels good to read. It flows.

The second thing that's awesome about these books are the settings. One of the words Tucholke used to describe Between the Spark and the Burn was "atmospheric", and I totally agree. She picks the perfect details to create such rich imagery for the reader. You go to the woods and the mountains and the ocean and it's all so very, very beautiful to explore with the characters. 

That's the next thing that's awesome: the characters. They're odd, but I think it's partly because we're reading in Violet's point of view. She's odd, and she sees the world in a skewed, quirky way. I wish I saw life through her eyes; it would be much more interesting. 

The last thing that's so awesome about this book and its prequel is that they're horror, but I wouldn't say they're scary as much as they're eerie. You push forward and flip the pages fast because nothing quite makes sense and then it all makes sense. It's like you're reading underwater, and the story is elusive but the setting and the actions are so concrete. It's a perfect mix. It's a great story to get lost in--a unique departure from the mainstream. I recommend with two thumbs up!

Check out our interview with April, here

This book hits shelves August of 2014! 
Buy Hardcover | $17.99

Happy reading!
Rachel, age 18

3 comments:

  1. I'm so happy you loved this book! And of course I have to mention that River is mine, I have proof.

    :D

    ReplyDelete
  2. YES! I am so glad that you enjoyed this book! I have yet to read it, but it's on deck for the next few weeks. Excellent review, Rachel!

    Alyssa @ The Eater of Books!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Stacee: FINE. But then I get Neely!
    Alyssa: Thank you! I think you'd like it. The writing is just to die for--it makes the story!!

    ReplyDelete

Thank you for visiting our blog and reading this review. We hope you stop by the store and check out the book!

~Youth Board