Tuesday, April 29, 2014

REVIEW & GIVEAWAY: The Last Best Kiss by Claire LaZebnik


Anna Eliot is tired of worrying about what other people think. After all, that was how she lost the only guy she ever really liked, Finn Westbrook.
Now, three years after she broke his heart, the one who got away is back in her life.
All Anna wants is a chance to relive their last kiss again (and again and again). But Finn obviously hasn’t forgotten how she treated him, and he’s made it clear he has no interest in having anything to do with her.
Anna keeps trying to persuade herself that she doesn’t care about Finn either, but even though they’ve both changed since they first met, deep down she knows he’s the guy for her. Now if only she can get him to believe that, too....
With her signature wit and expertly authentic teen voice, Claire LaZebnik (the author of fan favorites Epic Fail and The Trouble with Flirting) once again breathes new life into a perennially popular love story. Fans of Polly Shulman, Maureen Johnson, and, of course, Jane Austen will love this irresistibly funny and romantic tale of first loves and second chances.
~Goodreads

Publisher: HarperTeen
Number of Pages: 320
Type: Paperback

Reviewed by Amanda, age 18

Claire LaZebnik has quickly become one of my auto-buy authors for YA, which was why I was so excited to read this book. To be honest the first third of the book was a little hard to get into which was different from other books of hers that I’ve read where I’m hooked within the first chapter. So while The Last Best Kiss was definitely hard to get into, by the end it was worth the read.

There seemed to be a lot of unnecessary parts that slowed down the story. Those parts aside, the story line was a unique one and the relationship was built along the book at a good pace, which helped counteract the nonsense. Finn and Anna’s relationship was one between a hot nerd and a popular girl. It didn’t start off that way and it took a while for them to get back together, but the way it happened made it more believable and made the relationship seem so much stronger.

To me the book definitely seemed to have more real aspects of high school with the music festival and about how teenagers truly party sometimes. If reading about drugs and alcohol, or anything like that would upset you, I wouldn’t recommend reading this book. It was nice being a teenager and seeing that someone could truly capture that side, instead of sugarcoating/cliche-ing it.

Once again LaZebnik was able to keep me interested and I ended up reading this book in one day, needing to know what would happen. I’d recommend this book if you’ve liked her other books and are looking for a real teen romance story.

This book is on shelves now! 
Buy Hardcover | $9.99

WIN AN ARC OF THE LAST BEST KISS
U.S. Only

a Rafflecopter giveaway Happy reading!
Amanda, age 18

6 comments:

  1. What I Thought Was True. Also, I've been thinking about doing a throw back and reading through all of Sarah Dessens books again. Thanks for this chance to add to summer reading. :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. On The Fence by Kasie West is my most anticipated summer contemporary....

    ReplyDelete
  3. The Things You Kiss Goodbye by Leslie Connor

    ReplyDelete
  4. Since You've Been Gone by Morgan Matson

    ReplyDelete
  5. I'm looking forward to On The Fence, The Art of Lainey, and of course The Last Best Kiss!

    ReplyDelete

Thank you for visiting our blog and reading this review. We hope you stop by the store and check out the book!

~Youth Board