Wednesday, March 19, 2014

Maybe One Day by Melissa Kantor

Critically acclaimed author Melissa Kantor masterfully captures the joy of friendship, the agony of loss, and the unique experience of being a teenager in this poignant new novel about a girl grappling with her best friend's life-threatening illness. 
Zoe and her best friend, Olivia, have always had big plans for the future, none of which included Olivia getting sick. Still, Zoe is determined to put on a brave face and be positive for her friend.
Even when she isn't sure what to say.
Even when Olivia misses months of school. 
Even when Zoe starts falling for Calvin, Olivia's crush. 
The one thing that keeps Zoe moving forward is knowing that Olivia will beat this, and everything will go back to the way it was before. It has to. Because the alternative is too terrifying for her to even imagine. 

In this incandescent page-turner, which follows in the tradition of The Fault in Our Stars, Melissa Kantor artfully explores the idea that the worst thing to happen to you might not be something that is actually happening to you. Raw, irreverent, and honest, Zoe's unforgettable voice and story will stay with readers long after the last page is turned.
~Goodreads

Publisher: HarperTeen
Number of Pages: 400
Type: Hardcover 

Reviewed by Lily, age 13
I really enjoyed Maybe One Day. It is a beautiful story of two teenage girls who are best friends and in many ways, are as close as sisters. The author does a wonderful job of bringing the reader into the story; you feel like you are friends with Zoe and Olivia. I grew so fond of the characters and felt connected to them. Olivia gets sick and Zoe is determined to be there for her friend and be a positive force for her. The book is full of humor, laughter and many poignant moments.  It is a powerful story and made me think of and value the little things in life I take for granted. I highly recommend this book for girls 13 and up. Thank you to HarperTeen for this book!

This book is on shelves now!
Buy Hardcover | $17.99

Happy reading!
Lily, age 13

2 comments:

  1. I don't think there are nearly enough YA books based on a friendship. It sounds like the story is beautiful and the characters are likable! And, on a shallow note, I just love the cover! Purple is my favorite color ;D So glad you enjoyed this one, Lily! Lovely review :)

    Alyssa @ The Eater of Books!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I'm not a huge fan of YA contemporary novels, but Maybe One Day sounds really good! I'm glad to hear that you liked it and great review!

    ReplyDelete

Thank you for visiting our blog and reading this review. We hope you stop by the store and check out the book!

~Youth Board