Saturday, October 19, 2013

Relic (The Books of Eva) by Heather Terrell

The truth will test you...
For fans of Game of Thrones and The Hunger Games: high fantasy and dystopia meet in this high-stakes tale of a civilization built on lies and the girl who single-handedly brings it down.
When Eva’s twin brother, Eamon, falls to his death just a few months before he is due to participate in The Testing, no one expects Eva to take his place. She’s a Maiden, slated for embroidery classes, curtseys, and soon a prestigious marriage befitting the daughter of an Aerie ruler. But Eva insists on honoring her brother by becoming a Testor. After all, she wouldn’t be the first Maiden to Test, just the first in 150 years.
Eva knows the Testing is no dance class. Gallant Testors train for their entire lives to search icy wastelands for Relics: artifacts of the corrupt civilization that existed before The Healing drowned the world. Out in the Boundary Lands, Eva must rely on every moment of the lightning-quick training she received from Lukas—her servant, a Boundary native, and her closest friend now that Eamon is gone.

But there are threats in The Testing beyond what Lukas could have prepared her for. And no one could have imagined the danger Eva unleashes when she discovers a Relic that shakes the Aerie to its core.
~Goodreads

Publisher: Soho Teen 
Number of Pages: 288
Type: Hardcover

Reviewed by Lily, age 13

I loved reading Relic! The futuristic story is full of  cleverly woven plot twists that you never see coming.  Eva, a brave and courageous girl, is the main character, which I always enjoy. The book hooks the reader from the first page of the prologue all the way through to the end. I liked the great morals and messages offered throughout the book. I highly recommend this unique book for girls ages 9-13.

This book is in stores October 29th, 2013!
Buy Hardcover | $17.99

Happy reading!
Lily, age 13

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for visiting our blog and reading this review. We hope you stop by the store and check out the book!

~Youth Board