Sunday, August 18, 2013

Counting by 7's by Holly Goldberg Sloan


In the tradition of Out of My Mind, Wonder, and Mockingbird, this is an intensely moving middle grade novel about being an outsider, coping with loss, and discovering the true meaning of family.
Willow Chance is a twelve-year-old genius, obsessed with nature and diagnosing medical conditions, who finds it comforting to count by 7s. It has never been easy for her to connect with anyone other than her adoptive parents, but that hasn’t kept her from leading a quietly happy life . . . until now.

Suddenly Willow’s world is tragically changed when her parents both die in a car crash, leaving her alone in a baffling world. The triumph of this book is that it is not a tragedy. This extraordinarily odd, but extraordinarily endearing, girl manages to push through her grief. Her journey to find a fascinatingly diverse and fully believable surrogate family is a joy and a revelation to read.
~Goodreads

Publisher: Dial
Number of Pages: 384
Type: Hardcover

Dee Dee, age 14
The book Counting by Sevens, written by Holly Goldberg Sloan, was an okay read. The plot had an interesting set up to begin with but sort of went downhill from there. It was like the author really didn’t have anywhere to go. I wasn’t enthralled by the characters or writing style either. True, I do prefer adventure stories and this wasn’t meant to be an adventure, but I still found the book rather boring. For these reasons, I would not recommend it. But they do say if you liked Wonder if you might like this.

This book comes out August of 2013! 
Buy Hardcover | $16.99

Happy reading!
Dee Dee, age 14

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for visiting our blog and reading this review. We hope you stop by the store and check out the book!

~Youth Board