Tuesday, June 18, 2013

The Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates: Magic Marks the Spot by Caroline Carlson

Pirates! Magic! Treasure! A gargoyle? Caroline Carlson's hilarious tween novel The Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates #1: Magic Marks the Spot is perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket's Series of Unfortunate Events and Trenton Lee Stewart's Mysterious Benedict Society.
Hilary Westfield has always dreamed of being a pirate. She can tread water for thirty-seven minutes. She can tie a knot faster than a fleet of sailors, and she already owns a rather pointy sword.
There's only one problem: The Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates refuses to let any girl join their ranks of scourges and scallywags.
But Hilary is not the kind of girl to take no for answer. To escape a life of petticoats and politeness at her stuffy finishing school, Hilary sets out in search of her own seaworthy adventure, where she gets swept up in a madcap quest involving a map without an X, a magical treasure that likely doesn't exist, a talking gargoyle, a crew of misfit scallywags, and the most treacherous—and unexpected—villain on the High Seas.

Written with uproarious wit and an inviting storyteller tone, the first book in Caroline Carlson's quirky seafaring series is a piratical tale like no other.
~Goodreads

Publisher: HarperCollins
Number of Page: 256
Type: Hardcover

Reviewed by Lily, age 12

Magic Marks the Spot is an awesome book and I loved every part of it!!! It is one of the best books I have read in a long time. The story features a strong female heroine who is brave and adventuresome; she dreams of being a pirate.  The story is exciting, suspenseful and funny. There are some unexpected twists in the plot, which makes you want to keep reading. I could not stop reading this book. It is unique and special and I cannot wait for the second book in the series. I highly recommend this book for girls ages 8-12.
A big thank you to HarperCollins Children's Books for this fantastic book! 

This book releases September of 2013! 

Happy reading!
Lily, age 12

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for visiting our blog and reading this review. We hope you stop by the store and check out the book!

~Youth Board